Berks Sinfonietta and Vox Philia present their annual celebration of Black History Month. The virtual concert premieres on Saturday, February 27 at 7:30 pm and is rebroadcast on Sunday, February 28 at 4:00 pm. 

The program is a collaborative event, featuring performances by the Wilson High School Select Choir, conducted by Emily Fredericks, and the Lincoln University Concert Choir conducted by Dr. Camilla Horne. Wilson’s choir sings William Dawson’s exciting setting of “Soon-ah Will Be Done,” while the Concert Choir of Lincoln University performs three works, including Arnold Sevier’s stunning arrangement of Dorsey’s “Precious Lord.” Vox Philia performs Harry Burleigh’s setting of “My Lord, what a Morning,” and a moving setting of Langston Hughes “I Dream a World” by André Thomas. The choirs come together (virtually) to close with an uplifting setting of “We Shall Overcome.”

Berks Sinfonietta performs George Walker’s “Wind Set for Woodwind Quintet” and Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson’s “Sinfonietta No. 1 for Strings.” Walker’s quintet, commissioned by the New Jersey Chamber Music Society, premiered on May 2, 1999 at the New Jersey Performing Arts Center in Newark, NJ. The first movement is in two sections: at first, somewhat lyrical, the music quickly becomes more rhythmical. The second movement juxtaposes lyrical and virtuosic sections, with almost constant time signature changes. 

Perkinson’s Sinfonietta No.1 for Strings, composed in 1955, revels in contrapuntal writing, showing the composer’s admiration for the music of Bach. Music critic David Wolman argue the work “if composed by a young Caucasian, would be considered the work of a wunderkind.”     

Interspersed between these ensemble performances are solo performances by students and faculty at Lincoln University, as well as two distinguished singers based in Chicago, IL, soprano Kimberly Jones, and tenor David Honoré.  

Viewing is open to all and free, though donations equaling the usual ticket costs of a concert ($15/Adult and $5/Child) ensure these video concerts can continue. 

While viewership of our digital concerts is free, Berks Sinfonietta relies on public donations to hire local musicians, purchase and rent music, and continue bringing great music to our community.

Please consider a donation in any amount or on a recurring basis.

Upcoming Concerts

Saturday, March 27th, 2021
Berks Sinfonietta performs Strum by Jessie Montgomery, along with works by George Frideric Handel and Elfrida Andrée. 


Saturday, June 12th, 2021

Berks Sinfonietta is performing at Hawk Mountain Sanctuary.

This LIVE concert features outdoor-themed programming including Aaron Copland’s Appalachian Spring and the world premiere of the National Parks Suite by Jill Haley, a Reading native. In addition to music, enjoy light refreshments and the birds and wildlife of Hawk Mountain!

Tickets will be limited. Sign up for our mailing list and be the first to buy tickets when they go on sale. 


Berks Sinfonietta was established in 2014 as a group made up of local musicians, dedicated to exploring the vast repertoire of all periods. One of its distinguishing characteristics is the intergenerational approach, where young professionals, advanced students and gifted amateurs come together to learn from one another and to create performances of unqualified excellence. We also intend to explore various aspects of performance practice, and to build a new audience for classical music through education and outreach.


710 N. 5th St.

Reading, PA 19601

© 2021 Berks Sinfonietta

Website by Brandon Buterbaugh

  • YouTube
  • Facebook - Black Circle